Boobs are Not Just Sex Toys

Yeah, that blog title is guaranteed to get me many hits of highly disappointed Googlers. Piper and I are now 13 weeks into this whole breast-feeding relationship of ours. We’ve had our ups and downs, but overall the baby is being fed and that’s the point. I’ve fed one child formula only, one was given pumped breast milk in bottles, and now one exclusively breast-fed. There have been many awkward moments, but only one that actually annoyed the hell out of me. While sitting and waiting to catch a flight, a fellow passenger said for the millionth time, “I hope you have a pacifier for that baby!” She won’t take one. “Nope,” I responded trying not to sound annoyed. “Well you better shove a bottle in there then!” Pissed, I shake my head no. She then turns to her daughter and says, “Ew! That’s gross!”

This leads me to wonder, would she rather have her daughter believe breasts are sex toys rather than a vehicle for feeding a young child? Seriously? I’m not hard-core breast is the best, but c’mon now! It’s sure as hell not gross. Some people are so twisted. They wonder why women are reluctant to give it a try much less stick with it!

2 responses to “Boobs are Not Just Sex Toys

  1. Really? That’s amazing in this day and age. That woman must be living under some kind of heavy rock. It’s unfortunate that she’s giving the next generation that message.

Leave a Reply

